How Many T20 World Cup Pakistan Won

Pakistan emerged victorious in the 2009 T20 World Cup, marking their sole title triumph in the tournament to date.

Umaima Saeed
Umaima Saeed

Last Updated: 2023-11-20

Dillip Mohanty

5 minutes read

Cricket holds a special place in the hearts of millions in Pakistan. The country has produced iconic players, experienced the highs and lows, weathered the storms of controversy, and continuously showcased its cricketing prowess on the global stage.

One of the defining moments in Pakistan cricket came in 1992 when the team, under the leadership of Imran Khan, clinched the ICC Cricket World Cup in Australia. Imran's charismatic leadership, combined with stellar performances from players like Javed Miandad, Ramiz Raja, Wasim Akram and Mushtaq Ahmed, propelled Pakistan to victory.

The Men in Green secured their second significant championship in 2002 with a victory in the Asia Cup. Their accomplishments extended into the 21st century, clinching the T20 World Cup in 2009, a second Asia Cup title in 2012, and the ICC Champions Trophy in 2017. Notably, they finished as the runners-u9 in the 1999 Cricket World Cup and the T20 World Cups of 2007 and 2022.

How many T20 World Cups Pakistan Won

Pakistan has won the prestigious T20 World Cup title once, in the year 2009. This victory marked a significant milestone in the nation's cricketing history.

Pakistan's journey in the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007 was notable for reaching the final. However, they faced defeat at the hands of India in a thrilling showdown. Despite falling short in 2007, Pakistan showcased resilience and determination that set the stage for their success in the subsequent edition.

In 2009, the second T20 World Cup took place in England. Led by Younis Khan, Pakistan showcased topsy-turvy performances in the league stage. Despite a setback with a 48-run loss to England, they rebounded with an 82-run victory over the Netherlands. Another defeat against Sri Lanka followed, but Pakistan regained momentum, triumphing over New Zealand by six wickets and Ireland by 39 runs. This set the stage for a successful first semi-final against South Africa, which they won by seven runs.

South Africa, who had previously defeated India, West Indies, and hosts England in the Super 8, were the favourites to win the semi-final. But a stellar Man of the Match performance by Shahid Afridi led Pakistan to a narrow seven-run victory.

The summit clash – Pakistan vs Sri Lanka

The T20 World Cup 2009 final featured Pakistan and Sri Lanka, two cricketing powerhouses. Sri Lanka, who were unbeaten throughout the tournament until the final, won the toss and elected to bat first, looking to set a formidable total for Pakistan to chase. However, their hopes were quickly dented by the brilliant bowling performance of the Pakistani team. The bowlers, particularly Abdul Razzaq, picked up wickets at regular intervals and kept the run rate in check.

Despite a valiant effort from the Sri Lankan captain, Kumar Sangakkara, who scored a well-crafted 64, Pakistan's bowlers maintained their discipline and restricted Sri Lanka to a total of 138/6 in their 20 overs. Razzaq claimed a three-wicket haul, while Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul, and Mohammad Amir secured one wicket each.

In the chase, Kamran Akmal and Shahzaib Hasan scored 48 runs for the first wicket before Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik hit unbeaten knocks to take Pakistan to a win in 18.4 overs. Afridi remained unbeaten on 54 while Malik scored 24 not out.

The defining moment arrived when Afridi hit the winning runs with just eight balls to spare, securing Pakistan's first and only victory in the T20 World Cup. 

The Pakistan captain announced retirement from the shortest format after the World Cup victory. "This is my last Twenty20 game," he said at the press conference. "I'm old now for this kind of cricket."

Shahid Afridi was awarded the Man of the Match, while Tillakaratne Dilshan earned the Man of the Series accolade. Regrettably, Pakistan have not secured a World Cup title since the T20 World Cup win in 2009.

Pakistan’s journey

In the 2009 T20 World Cup title

Date Venue VSResultMargin
7 JuneThe OvalEngland Lost By 48 runs 
9 June Lord’sNetherlands WonBy 82 runs 
12 June Lord’sSri LankaLostBy 19 runs 
13 JuneThe OvalNew ZealandWonBy six wickets 
15 June The OvalIreland WonBy 39 runs
18 JuneTrent BridgeSouth AfricaWonBy 7 runs 
20 June Lord’sSri Lanka Won By 8 wickets 
Sportsboom Event Table Logo

Best performers for Pakistan at the 2009 T20 World Cup

Pakistan’s full squad: Younis Khan (capt), Salman Butt, Ahmed Shahzad, Misbah-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal (wk), Fawad Alam, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Yasir Arafat, Umar Gul, Mohammad Aamir, Saeed Ajmal, Rao Iftikhar Anjum, Shazaib Hassan.

Kamran Akmal top-scored for Pakistan at the 2009 T20 World Cup. In seven matches, Akmal amassed 188 runs at an average and strike rate of 26.85 and 125.33. Shahid Afridi also delivered the goods with the bat, scoring 176 runs at an average of over 35 and a strike rate of 140.80.

In the bowling department, Umar Gul was the top wicket-taker. He picked up 13 wickets in seven matches at an average of 12.15. Saeed Ajmal and Shahid Afridi also did well, securing 12 and 11 wickets, respectively. 

Pakistan at the subsequent T20 World Cup editions

Pakistan have participated in all the T20 World Cups played to date. They have 28 wins from 47 matches overall, 18 losses and a tie.

2010: In the 2010 World Cup in the West Indies, Pakistan reached the semifinals but lost to Australia, failing to defend 191.

2012: In the 2012 edition of the tournament in Sri Lanka, Pakistan reached the semi-finals but couldn't chase down 139 against Sri Lanka.

2014: In Bangladesh in 2014, Pakistan didn't advance to the knockout stage after winning and losing two games each.

2016: In India, Pakistan failed to reach the semifinals after losing three out of four matches.

2021: In the 2021 T20 World Cup in the UAE, Pakistan lost the semifinal to Australia, unable to defend 176.

2022: In Australia in 2022, Pakistan lost to England in the final, unable to defend 137.

Umaima Saeed
Umaima SaeedSports Writer

Umaima Saeed is a professional sports writer whose articles have been featured in several leading websites. She writes long-form content on sports, particularly cricket. She has a penchant for telling human-interest stories. Umaima has contributed articles on cricket to more than a dozen publications, both in print and online.