IPL Match Quota: Exploring the Number of Matches Each Team Plays

We’ll show you everything you need to know about the 17th edition of the IPL.

A cricket team celebrating after winning the IPL trophy
Kaylan Geekie

Written by: Kaylan Geekie

(Sports Writer)

Fact checked by: Louis Hobbs

(Senior Sports Writer)

Last updated: 2024-04-03

5 minutes read

The 2024 Indian Premier League (IPL) returns for its 17th edition.

The Chennai Super Kings were crowned 2023 champions for an equal record of five times.

The Super Kings beat Gujarat Titans by five wickets (DLS method) in a rain-affected final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Chennai went level with the Mumbai Indians after defeating the Titans in a thriller matchup. The final went down to the last ball of the showpiece event before Ravindra Jadeja's heroics claimed the crown for the Super Kings.

Here at Sportsboom, we’ve decided to take a deep dive into when the tournament begins, when the final takes place, where the matches are played, and the number of matches each team plays during the edition.

We will also explore the prize money, the event of a tied match, and the quota of overseas players.

How Each Team Plays 14 Games

There are 10 IPL franchises. The match quota for 2024 is 14 games per franchise played in a double round-robin format.

Each team plays against the other nine, home and away. The top four sides make it through to the playoffs.

There is a Qualifier 1, where the winner goes through to the final.

The third and fourth-placed teams compete in the Eliminator. The winner of the Eliminator will compete against the team who lost the Qualifier 1 in a Qualifier 2.

The winner of the Qualifier 2 will gets the opportunity to play in the final. 


Indian Premier League 2024


Home & Away League Round Robin followed by Playoffs

Total Teams 

10 Franchises

Total Matches 

70 Round Robin, 4 Playoff

League Matches Per Team

14 Round Robin

Playoff Matches

Qualifier 1, Eliminator, Qualifier 2, Final

Image Credits: Y20 India

Image Credits: Y20 India


When does IPL 2024 begin, and when is the final?

The Chennai Super Kings open the tournament when they play Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chennai on March 22, 2024.

The BCCI has only released the schedule for the first 21 matches until April 7.

The schedule for the rest of the tournament will be released in due course. The Indian Premier League final is expected to be held on May 26. 

How many teams will contest the 2024 IPL?

A total of 10 teams will contest the 2024 IPL. 

1.    Mumbai Indians 
2.    Delhi Capitals
3.    Kolkata Knight Riders
4.    Rajasthan Royals
5.    Lucknow Super Giants
6.    Chennai Super Kings 
7.    Sunrisers Hyderabad
8.    Royal Challengers Bangalore
9.    Punjab Kings
10.    Gujarat Titans

How many matches will be played in IPL 2024?

Like last year, the competition will have 70 league matches and four playoff games, including the final.  

In total, there will be 74 IPL matches in 2024.  

Where will the IPL matches be played?

The home venues for most of the teams remain unchanged. The Punjab Kings have, however, moved to a new stadium. 

Image Credits: SportsTiger

Image Credits: SportsTiger

They will play most of their home games in Mullanpur, with the venue set to make its IPL debut. The Kings will also play two home games in Dharamsala.

Delhi Capitals will play their first two home games in Visakhapatnam before moving back to the venue in Delhi for the rest of the season.




Arun Jaitley Stadium


Wankhede Stadium


Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium


M.A. Chidambaram Chepauk Stadium


Eden Gardens


Narendra Modi Stadium


Barsapara Cricket Stadium


M. Chinnaswamy Stadium


Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium


Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium



Punjab Cricket Association Is Bindra Stadium

What is the prize money for the winning team of IPL 2024?

The prize money for the winning team is US$ 2.65m (30 crore). The runner-up earns US$1.3m (13 crore). 

Teams get US$1m (8 crore) for losing the qualifier and US$680,000 (7 core) for defeat in the eliminator. 

Additionally, there are various other cash prizes and awards for outstanding individual performances throughout the tournament.

How many overseas players are allowed in each IPL team?

Each IPL team is allowed to have a maximum of four overseas players in their playing XI for each match. 

This rule encourages diversity and promotes international talent in the league.

What happens in case of a tie in an IPL match?

In the event of a tie in an IPL match, a Super Over is played to determine the winner. 

Each team gets one over to bat and bowl, and the team scoring the most runs in the Super Over wins the match.

For all the latest news, features, and interviews in the world of cricket and the IPL, make sure to stay connected with Sportsboom.com

Kaylan Geekie

Kaylan Geekie

Kaylan Geekie is a sports fanatic. He attended Durban High School before moving to Scotland, where he lived for 15 years. During his time in the United Kingdom, Kaylan graduated with a first-class BA Honours Degree in Sports Journalism at the University of the West of Scotland. Kaylan worked for nine years as the Match-Day Editor of SuperXV.com, reporting on Super Rugby, The Rugby Championship, the 2015 Men's Rugby World Cup and the 2017 British & Irish Lions series for the website.

More articles by this author