Rewards for PSL Man of the Match 2024: Prize Money Breakdown

PSL 2024 is all set to begin on February 17. Ahead of the tournament, check out the prize money up for grabs for various achievements.

Umaima Saeed
Umaima Saeed

Last Updated: 2024-02-15

Dillip Mohanty

5 minutes read

T20 cricket leagues often offer substantial cash rewards for winning matches, tournaments, or specific achievements. The lure of prize money motivates players to perform at their best, leading to intense competition and thrilling matches.

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) stands out as one of the most well-paid cricket tournaments globally. PSL's attractive financial rewards not only elevate the competition's prestige but also entice top international players to participate, enhancing the league's overall quality and excitement. This makes the PSL a sought-after and lucrative opportunity for cricketers worldwide. Not only is the overall prize money for the winners attractive, the Man of the Match prize money in PSL is also significant. 

PSL 2023 Winner Cheque.jpeg

PSL Prize money

in each category

Sr no. Category Prize Money
1WinnerPKR 120 million (INR 3.40 crore approx.)
2Runners-upPKR 48 million (INR 1.36 crore approx.)
3Player of the Match500,000 PKR (Rs 1.50 lakh approx.)
4Batter of the TournamentPKR 3.5 million (INR 14.86 lakh approx.)
5Bowler of the TournamentPKR 3.5 million (INR 14.86 lakh approx.)
6Player of the Tournament PKR 3.5 million (INR 14.86 lakh approx.)
7All-rounder of the TournamentPKR 3.5 million (INR 14.86 lakh approx.)
8Fielder of the TournamentPKR 3.5 million (INR 14.86 lakh approx.)
9Emerging Player of the TournamentPKR 3.5 million (INR 14.86 lakh approx.)
Sportsboom Event Table Logo

Pakistan Super League winner prize money

The PSL champions receive a substantial prize of 120 million Pakistani rupees (approximately Rs 3.40 crore), with the runners-up earning 48 million Pakistani rupees (approximately Rs 1.36 crore). Comparatively, the IPL boasts the highest rewards, with the winning team taking home Rs 20 crore and the runners-up receiving about Rs 12 crore. The Bangladesh Premier League follows closely behind, offering over Rs 6 crore in prize money, making it the second most lucrative T20 tournament, followed by the PSL.

PSL winners over the years

YearWinnerRunner Up
2016Islamabad UnitedQuetta Gladiators
2017Peshawar ZalmiQuetta Gladiators
2018Islamabad UnitedPeshawar Zalmi
2019Quetta GladiatorsPeshawar Zalmi
2020Karachi KingsLahore Qalandars
2021Multan SultansPeshawar Zalmi
2022Lahore QalandarsMultan Sultans
2023Lahore QalandarsMultan Sultans
Sportsboom Event Table Logo

PSL Man of the Match prize money

PSL 2023 Player of the Match.jpeg

The best-performing player in a game of cricket is rewarded with a Man of the Match award. This is followed in all formats and levels of the game. The prize money, however, differs in each tournament.

Shaheen Afridi was awarded the Man of the Match award in the final of PSL 2023, for which he received a cash prize of 500,000 PKR (Rs 1.5 lakh approx.)

PSL Player of the Tournament prize money

PSL 2023 Player of the Tournamnt Cheque.jpeg

The Player of the Tournament award is highly respected in cricket. It's given to the player who performs the best throughout the tournament. Recognizing excellence in batting, bowling, or fielding, this accolade signifies a player's significant contribution to his team. 
In the 2023 edition of the PSL, fast bowler Ihsanullah was awarded this prize for picking up 22 wickets throughout the tournament. His outstanding performance earned him a cash prize of PKR 3 million (approximately INR 9 lakhs).

List of Player of the Tournament award winners


Sr no. SeasonPlayerTeam
12016Ravi BoparaKarachi Kings
22017Kamran AkmalPeshawar Zalmi
32018Luke RonchiIslamabad United
42019Shane WatsonQuetta Gladiators
52020Babar AzamKarachi Kings
62021Sohaib MaqsoodMultan Sultans
72022Mohammad RizwanMultan Sultans 
82023Ihsanullah Multan Sultans 
Sportsboom Event Table Logo

Prize money for PSL batter of the tournament

PSL 2023 Batter of the Tournamnt Cheque.jpeg

Another important recognition at the end of the PSL season is the PSL Batter of the Tournament award. While most often, this award is given to the tournament’s top run-scorer, factors like the batsman’s average and strike rate are also considered. In 2023, Mohammed Rizwan clinched the Batter of the Tournament award for emerging as the top run-scorer of the season. The wicket-keeper batsman amassed an impressive total of 550 runs, which comprised a century and four half-centuries. He received a cash prize of PKR 3.5 million. 

Rizwan was also named the Best Wicketkeeper of the Tournament. He took 13 catches and executed one stumping. For rewarded PKR 3.5 million for this achievement as well. 

Prize money for PSL bowler of the tournament

Like the best batsman of the season, the best bowler of the season is also awarded an award called PSL bowler of the tournament. in PSL 2023, Ihsanullah won this award for picking up 22 wickets at an economy rate of 7.59. The prize money for the best bowler is the same as for the best batsman - PKR 3.5 million. 

Prize money for PSL's best emerging player

PSL 2023 Emerging Player of the Tournamnet.jpeg

The Emerging Player Award is usually given to a young and promising player who delivers the goods. It's usually awarded to someone who has shown exceptional talent, skill, and potential despite being relatively new to the professional cricket scene. 21-year-old Abbas Afridi was named the Best Emerging Player for picking up the most wickets in the tournament (23). He received a cash prize of PKR 3.5 million. 

All you need to know about PSL 2024

In the upcoming PSL 2024, a total of 14 matches are scheduled to take place across four venues, commencing from February 17 to 27 in Lahore and Multan. Subsequently, Karachi and Rawalpindi will host 16 matches from February 28 to March 12. The playoffs are slated to be held in Karachi from March 14 to 18.

Six teams – Karachi Kings, Multan Sultans, Peshawar Zalmi, Quetta Gladiators, Lahore Qalandars and Islamabad United, will compete for the title. The tournament will kick off with the league stage, during which each team will play against the others twice. The top four teams from this stage will advance to the playoffs.

Defending champions Lahore Qalandars will take Islamabad United at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore in the tournament opener. 

Umaima Saeed
Umaima SaeedSports Writer

Umaima Saeed is a professional sports writer whose articles have been featured in several leading websites. She writes long-form content on sports, particularly cricket. She has a penchant for telling human-interest stories. Umaima has contributed articles on cricket to more than a dozen publications, both in print and online.