Who conquered the world in the first-ever T20 World Cup?

Who conquered the world in the first-ever T20 World Cup ?

Ankitjit Singh
Ankitjit Singh

Last Updated: 2024-07-04

Umaima Saeed

6 minutes read

A general view of the ICC T20 trophy prior to the ICC Men's T20 Cricket World Cup

The introduction of the T20 World Cup in 2007 was a huge step by the International Cricket Council (ICC) to boost the format. It turned out to be a massive step as after that many T20 leagues were introduced and the format now has become a threat to the ODIs as well as the Tests.

The first edition of the T20 World Cup was played in 2007 in South Africa and it marked the beginning of a new era in cricket. From 2007 to 2024, the game has evolved so much that when someone goes through the scorecard of the matches in the inaugural edition, it surprises them because even the targets around 100 were defendable. But now in today’s world, even 200 is unsafe, which speaks a lot about the enhancement of the game.

Who won the first T20 World Cup?

The first edition of the T20 World Cup took place in 2007 in South Africa and it was the Indian cricket team who emerged victorious. Under the leadership of MS Dhoni, the young Indian team scripted history as they played a sensational brand of cricket, in a format that was new for them.

India team started their campaign with disappointment as their first game against Scotland was a washout and then they were up against arch-rivals Pakistan. It was a one-of-a-kind game as the match ended in a tie and the result was decided on the base of a bowlout, which India won 3-0.

After that India advanced to the Super 8 stage and it wasn’t a great start for them in that stage as they faced a 10-wicket thrashing at the hands of New Zealand. However, they made a strong comeback as they then beat England, a match famous for Yuvraj Singh’s six sixes in an over against Stuart Broad.  

India then went on to defeat South Africa by by 37 runs to seal a semifinal berth. In the knockout stage, they were up against mighty Australia and the MS Dhoni-led side came up with a blistering effort. They clinched the match by 15 runs and then paved their way into the final against Pakistan.

It was a cracker of a final between the two arch-rivals as India while batting first posted a total of 157 runs and after that was sensational with the ball. They left Pakistan tottering at 77/6 but Misbah-ul-Haq led Pakistan’s fightback and took his team close to the target. But he couldn’t take his team home as when six runs were needed off four balls, he played the scoop, which was caught by S. Sreesanth at short fine-leg. India won the tournament by 5 runs and lifted the World Cup after 28 years.

T20 World Cup winners over the years 

T20 World Cup winners over the years

YearWinnerRunner-UpPlayer of the Tournament Top Run ScorerHighest Wicket TakerVenue
2007IndiaPakistanShahid AfridiMatthew HaydenUmar GulSouth Africa
2009PakistanSri LankaTillakaratne DilshanTillakaratne DilshanUmar GulEngland
2010EnglandAustraliaKevin PietersenMahela JayawardeneDirk NannesWest Indies
2012West IndiesSri LankaShane WatsonShane WatsonAjantha MendisSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaIndiaVirat KohliVirat KohliAjantha MendisBangladesh
2016West IndiesEnglandVirat KohliTamim IqbalMustafizur RahmanIndia
2021AustraliaNew ZealandMitchell MarshBabar AzamAdam ZampaUAE/Oman
2022EnglandPakistanSam CurranVirat KohliWanindu HasarangaAustralia
2024India South Africa Jasprit Bumrah Rahmanullah Gurbaz Fazalhaq Farooqi/Arshdeep Singh USA/Carribean 
Sportsboom Event Table Logo

India, West Indies and England are the only two countries that have won the T20 World Cup twice. The Men in Blue achieved the feat in 2007 and then won the most recent edition of the tournament in 2024. On the other hand, West Indies won the title in 2012 and 2014. England emerged winners in 2010 and 2022. Australia (2021), Sri Lanka (2014) and Pakistan (2009) have won the title once. 

T20 World Cup 2024 winner

Indian team is expected to leave Barbados on Tuesday with a special chartered flight

Image Credits: @CricCrazyJohns (X Account)

The most recent edition of the T20 World Cup, which took place in June 2024 in the United States of America and the Caribbean, saw India winning their second title. Under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, the Men in Blue were sensational throughout the tournament with the bat and ball.

India didn’t lose a single game in the T20 World Cup 2024 and became the first team ever to win the tournament undefeated. In the league stage, they beat Pakistan, United States of America and Ireland and followed it with the victories against Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Australia in the Super 8 stage.

India then met England in the semifinal and thumped the opposition by 68 runs to advance to the final. It was India vs South Africa in the summit clash and it turned out to be a cracker of a game. The Rohit Sharma-led side snatched the victory from the jaws of defeat and sealed the gams by 7 runs to end their 11-year title drought.


Who is the first ICC T20 World Cup winner?

India is the first ICC T20 World Cup winner as under the captaincy of MS Dhoni they won the title in 2007. They defeated arch-rivals Pakistan in the final and entered their name in the record books. The tournament also saw Dhoni making his captaincy debut and making an instant impact. 

Which are the teams with two T20 World Cups?

West Indies was the first team who win the T20 World Cup twice. After winning the tournament in 2012, they achieved the feat in 2014, England, who won the T20 World Cup in 2009, joined the West Indies as they completed the second title win in 2022. The third team with two T20 World Cups is India, having won titles in 2007 and 2024.

How many T20 World Cups Australia has won?

Australia has won just one T20 World Cup. They achieved the feat in the 2021 edition of the tournament, which took place in the United Arab Emirates. They won the title under the leadership of Aaron Finch as they defeated New Zealand in the final to register their maiden T20 trophy. 

Ankitjit Singh
Ankitjit SinghSports Writer

I am just a guy in his early 20s whose dream was to play cricket but now believes his job is to serve cricket. I picked the cricket bat at the age of 3, pursued science as I grew up but eventually followed my heart to come into journalism and do the second-best thing in the world after playing the sport.