Which Wicket Keeper has Most Dismissals in PSL History

Mohammad Rizwan holds the record for most wicket-keeper dismissals in the PSL history. Know who are the others on the list.

Dillip Mohanty
Dillip Mohanty

Last Updated: 2024-01-31

Umaima Saeed

5 minutes read

The Pakistan Super League is one of the leading franchise-based cricket tournaments in the world where plenty of professional cricketers from around the world get to showcase their talent. The league has witnessed lots of brilliant performances with the bat and ball. But there is another aspect where players have showcased their skills behind the stumps. The wicketkeeper’s role is an important one in T20 cricket and some names have performed well in PSL. Here we will have a look at the keepers with the most dismissals in the Pakistan Super League.

Most Dismissals by Wicket Keeper

In PSL (2016-2023)

BEN DUNK (KK/LQ)2622325
AZAM KHAN (IU/QG)2210414
Sportsboom Event Table Logo

Mohammad Rizwan (74 Dismissals)

Mohammad Rizwan in PSL Wicket Keeping.jpeg

The Multan Sultans captain has the most wicketkeeper dismissals in PSL with 74 dismissals. No other wicketkeeper has taken more catches than Rizwan’s 59 and no one has affected more stumpings than his tally of 15. He has the PSL record of most dismissals in a season with 20 dismissals in the 2021 PSL season. Rizwan started his PSL career featuring Lahore Qalandars before moving to Karachi Kings and eventually to Multan Sultans in 2021. He led Sultans to victory in 2021 with the side finishing runner-ups in 2022 and 2023. Rizwan also has 1996 runs in 60 batting innings in the tournament making him the wicketkeeper with the most runs in the history of the tournament.

Kamran Akmal (52 Dismissals)

The Peshawar Zalmi stumper has affected 62 dismissals in 72 innings in the league with 53 catches and nine stumpings to his name. Akmal also has the PSL record for most stumpings in a single season as he affected 5 of them in the 2017 season. The 2021 PSL edition was the best season for Kamran as a wicketkeeper as he affected 15 dismissals behind the stumps for Zalmi. Besides his wicketkeeping, Kamran became an important part of the Zalmi side with his top-order batting skills and has scored 1972 runs in 74 innings.

Sarfaraz Ahmed (49 Dismissals)

Sarfaraz Ahmed Wicket Keeping in PSL.jpeg

The Quetta Gladiators captain has been an inspirational figure for the team. With 49 dismissals behind the stumps, Sarfaraz runs the game well from his position guiding the bowlers young and experienced alike. The team finished as runners-up in 2016 and 2017 winning the title successfully in 2019. With 11 stumpings, Sarfaraz sits only behind Rizwan in the league. He has also scored 1503 runs with 7 half-centuries in the tournament. An animated character on the field, Ahmed has played the most number of matches (80) as captain in the tournament.

Ben Dunk (25 Dismissals)

Huge gap between the number 3 keeper in the list and number 4 Ben Dunk as the Australian top-order batter has 25 dismissals to his name in PSL. Starting his career at Karachi Kings in 2019, Dunk had 6 dismissals behind the stumps in his debut season before he made the move to Lahore Qalandars for the next season collecting 25 more with the 2021 season as his best behind the stumps where he affected 10 dismissals. In his 30-match PSL career, Dunk scored 596 runs with a best of 99 not out. After the 2022 season, he accepted a position in the Qalandars coaching staff.

Luke Ronchi (22 Dismissals)

The former Islamabad United wicketkeeper played T20 internationals for Australia, New Zealand, and the World XI. One of the best hard hitters PSL has witnessed, Ronchi was part of the United squad for 3 seasons dismissing 22 players behind the stumps with 19 catches and 3 dismissals. The attacking batter also hit the 3rd fastest half-century in PSL and ended his career with 1020 runs under his belt with 10 half-centuries and a best of 94 not out in 31 innings.

Kumar Sangakkara (20 Dismissals)

Kumar Sangakkara Wicket Keeping PSL.jpeg

The former Sri Lankan legend and left-handed keeper batter Kumar Sangakkara kept wickets in a couple of PSL seasons for Karachi Kings and Multan Sultans respectively grabbing 10 dismissals each in the 2017 and 2018 seasons. One of the consistent performers across formats, Sangakkara also hit 613 runs in 24 matches featuring in the first 3 PSL seasons playing for three different sides. He also played a season for Quetta Gladiators but as a pure batter with skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed taking over the keeping duties.

Azam Khan (14 Dismissals)

The young and dynamic wicketkeeper from Pakistan, Azam Khan kept wickets on 22 occasions and has 14 dismissals to his name taking 10 catches and 4 stumpings. He made his T20 debut in the PSL itself playing for Quetta Gladiators in 2019 and was an understudy to Sarfaraz Ahmed. Azam featured for Gladiators for 3 seasons before shifting base to Islamabad United in 2022. He first kept wickets in PSL in the same season finishing with 9 dismissals taking 5 more in PSL 8. He has 914 runs to his name with 5 fifties and a best of 97 with the bat.

Sam Billings (13 Dismissals)

The English keeper batter has featured for Islamabad United and Lahore Qalandars in the Pakistan Super League and has kept in just 13 games. Starting with United in the 2016 edition, Billings kept wickets in just 3 games and took a couple of catches behind the stumps. United finished as the champions that season. Billings was part of the Lahore Qalandars squad in 2023 keeping in 10 games and taking as many catches behind the stumps playing an important role in the team’s victorious run.

Chadwick Walton (13 Dismissals)

Starting with Islamabad United in the 2018 PSL season, Walton has 13 wicketkeeping dismissals to his name with 11 catches and 2 stumpings. After playing a season for United, Walton was picked up by Karachi Kings where he kept wickets for the next 2 seasons. He was an important part of the Karachi Kings champion squad in 2020 with 8 keeping dismissals and 176 runs in 10 innings for the side. 

Brad Haddin (12 Dismissals)

The veteran Australian wicketkeeper was a key figure in Islamabad United’s triumph in the 2016 season affecting 8 dismissals behind the stumps and scoring 188 runs in 8 matches including an important unbeaten 61 in the final game versus Quetta Gladiators which helped the side to chase 174 and win the first ever PSL title. In his 2nd and final PSL season for the same franchise, he affected 4 keeping dismissals scoring 139 runs in 9 innings with the team failing to go beyond the qualifier.

Dillip Mohanty
Dillip MohantySports Editor

Dillip has over two decades of experience in creating sports content. As the Sports Editor of SportsBoom, Dillip brings in a wealth of experience and expertise to the role. Dillip has worked with leading sports broadcasters and sports web content portals in Asia. He is an adept storyteller and has a special liking for data stories. He has a keen interest in data analysis and uncovering insights from large datasets. He loves to tell the story with rich and compelling data visualisation.