The Most World Cup Winning Cricket Team

The Australia Men's Cricket Team holds the record for winning the most ODI World Cups, with 6 victories. West Indies and India have each won the World Cup twice.

Dillip Mohanty
Dillip Mohanty

Last Updated: 2023-11-20

Subhayan Dutta

5 minutes read

The Australia Men's Cricket Team holds the record for winning the most ODI World Cups, with a total of 6 victories. In the 2023 ICC Men's Cricket World Cup held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, India, Australia defeated India by 6 wickets to secure their 6th World Cup title.

Both the West Indies and India have won the World Cup twice. The West Indies emerged victorious in the first two World Cups held in England in 1975 and 1979. India, on the other hand, claimed the title in 1983 and 2011. Additionally, Pakistan in 1992, Sri Lanka in 1996, and England in 2019 have each won the World Cup once.

Most cricket World Cup winners team list as of 2023

1975ENGWIby 17 runsAUS
1979ENGWIby 92 runsENG
1983ENGINDby 43 runsWI
1987IND & PAKAUSby 7 runsENG
1992AUS & NZPAKby 22 runsENG
1996IND, PAK & SLSLby 7 wicketsAUS
1999ENGAUSby 8 wicketsPAK
2003SAAUSby 125 runsIND
2007WIAUSby 53 runsSL
2011IND & BANINDby 6 wicketsSL
2015AUS & NZAUSby 7 wicketsNZ
2019ENGENGSuper OverNZ
2023INDAUSby 6 wicketsIND
Sportsboom Event Table Logo

Australia Wins Cricket World Cup 2023

India remained undefeated in the group stage of the 2023 World Cup and secured a spot in the final by defeating New Zealand by 70 runs in the semi-final at the Wankhede Stadium. Australia, on the other hand, suffered defeats in their first two matches against India in Chennai and South Africa in Lucknow. However, they bounced back and won their next 7 matches in the group stage, ultimately finishing 3rd in the points table. In the second semi-final at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata, Australia defeated South Africa by 3 wickets to advance to the final.

In the final match between India and Australia, Australia won the toss and invited India to bat. Despite dominating the World Cup in both batting and bowling throughout the tournament, India could only manage a score of 240 runs in 50 overs. KL Rahul (66 off 107) and Virat Kohli (54 off 63) were the only batsmen who offered some resistance to the hostile and meticulous Australian bowling attack. India captain Rohit Sharma started the innings aggressively, scoring a quick 47 off 31 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes. But he could not carry the momentum as he mistimed a shot against Glenn Maxwell. His departure started a mini-collapse. India were 80 for 3 in the first 10 overs.

However, regular wicket falls and Australia's methodical and hostile bowling, with a plan for each Indian batsman, ensured that India could not regain control of the game. The significant aspect of the match was India's limited scoring of only 3 boundaries during the middle overs (11 to 40 overs). Despite not being in top form throughout the tournament, Mitchell Starc managed to take 3 wickets for 55 runs. Josh Hazlewood and Australia captain Pat Cummins each claimed 2 wickets as well.

240 was not a competitive target for India to defend. Despite Australia losing 3 wickets in quick succession and scoring less than 50 runs in the first powerplay, the game took an unexpected turn when Travis Head, who was partnered with David Warner at the opening of the innings, launched a counterattack. Head's incredible performance saw him scoring a blistering 137 off 120 deliveries, leading Australia to a remarkable victory.

Travis Head Player of the Match 2023 World Cup Final.jpgIn recognition of his outstanding contribution, he was named the player of the match. It is worth noting that Head had also been awarded the player of the match in the semi-final against South Africa at Kolkata, where he played a crucial role in a successful run chase by scoring 62 off 48 balls.

By achieving this feat, Head joined the prestigious ranks of Mohinder Amarnath (1983), Aravinda de Silva (1996), and Shane Warne (1999) as the 4th player to win the Player of the Match award in both the semi-final and final of a World Cup.

Cricket World Cup Winners List: Results by Country

Australia is the most successful team in the history of the ICC ODI World Cup. They have dominated the tournament with an impressive record of winning it six times. They are also the only team to win the World Cup in three consecutive editions from 1999 to 2007. In addition, they have also finished as the runner-up on two occasions. Australia is the most successful and formidable team in the tournament's history.

Following closely behind Australia, India and West Indies, both have clinched the World Cup title twice. While they may not have the same level of dominance as Australia, their achievements in the tournament cannot be overlooked.

Cricket World Cup Winners List

Results by Country

WinnersRunners-upYears WonYears Runners-up
Australia8621987, 1999, 2003, 
2007, 2015, 2023
1975, 1996
England41320191979, 1987, 1992
India4221983, 20112003, 2023
West Indies3211975, 19791983
Sri Lanka31219962007, 2011
New Zealand202-2015, 2019
Sportsboom Event Table Logo
Dillip Mohanty
Dillip MohantySports Editor

Dillip has over two decades of experience in creating sports content. As the Sports Editor of SportsBoom, Dillip brings in a wealth of experience and expertise to the role. Dillip has worked with leading sports broadcasters and sports web content portals in Asia. He is an adept storyteller and has a special liking for data stories. He has a keen interest in data analysis and uncovering insights from large datasets. He loves to tell the story with rich and compelling data visualisation.