The Longest Sixes in IPL History: Who Hit Them and How Far Did They Go?

With a lot of sixes hit in the IPL, who’s got the record for the longest hit?

Ankitjit Singh
Ankitjit Singh

Last Updated: 2024-04-04

Louis Hobbs

7 minutes read

Chris Gayle after hitting a six in the IPL in 2012

A cricket tournament like the Indian Premier League (IPL) has changed the dynamics of how T20 should be played. The six-hitting has become a necessity for a player who wishes to play the short format of the game. It’s fair to say that T20s and IPL would be boring without it. Hitting sixes not only helps teams get some quick runs but it also thoroughly entertains the whole crowd as well.

The game is progressing so fast that every team now requires a specialist power-hitter, who can change the complexion of the match within a few balls. The IPL over has seen many power-hitters over the years. Those have been seen hitting some lusty blows. With the league seeing over 1000 sixes being hit over the last 16 years, takes a look at IPL's longest six in the event’s history.

Top 10 longest six in IPL history








Albie Morkel

Chennai Super Kings

125 meters

Deccan Chargers 



Praveen Kumar

Punjab Kings

124 meters

Mumbai Indians 



Adam Gilchrist

Punjab Kings

122 meters

Royal Challengers Bengaluru 



Robin Uthappa

Royal Challengers Bangalore

120 meters

Mumbai Indians 



Chris Gayle

Royal Challengers Bangalore

119 meters

Rising Pune Supergiants



Yuvraj Singh

Punjab Kings

119 meters

Chennai Super Kings 



Ross Taylor

Royal Challengers Bangalore

119 meters

Chennai Super Kings.



Gautam Gambhir

Kolkata Knight Riders

117 meters

Rajasthan Royals 



Ben Cutting

Sunrisers Hyderabad

117 meters

Royal Challengers Bengaluru



Liam Livingstone

Punjab Kings

117 meters

Gujarat Titans 



1. Albie Morkel’s 125-meter six in IPL 2008

IPL's longest six in IPL history belongs to former South African all-rounder Albie Morkel. The all-rounder etched his name in the record books during the inaugural edition of the league. While playing for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in a match against Deccan Chargers, he clobbered spinner Pragya Ojha for a massive six. The southpaw danced down the track and hit a humongous 125-meter six.  Even though 16 seasons have gone by, his record of hitting the longest six in IPL still stays unbeaten. 

Image Credit: Sportskeeda

Image Credit: Sportskeeda

2. Praveen Kumar’s 124-meter six in IPL 2013

Praveen Kumar’s name in the list of IPL longest six in IPL history might surprise many. But the former pacer did something that many batting greats failed to do. He has the second-longest six to his name in the history of the IPL. While playing for Punjab Kings in the IPL 2013, he achieved the feat in the game against Mumbai Indians. The former India pacer talked Lasith Malinga for a huge six over long-off. When the distance came up on the big screen, it surprised many as it was a 125-meter six. 

3. Adam Gilchrist’s 122-meter six in IPL 2011

Adam Gilchrist was arguably one of the best overseas batters to have played in the Indian Premier League (IPL). He guided the Deccan Chargers to the title win and then ended his career with the Punjab Kings. He is the owner of the third-longest six in IPL history as he has hit 122 meters maximum in the league. It came during the game between Punjab Kings and Royal Challengers Bengaluru when he hit fast bowler Charl Langeveldt in the mid-wicket region. 

Read more: The Longest Sixes in PSL History

4. Robin Uthappa’s 120-meter six in IPL 2012

Robin Uthappa smashed a 120-meter six during the IPL 2010  and it remains the fourth-longest six in IPL history.  The right-hander, who was part of the Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) during that season entered the record books in the game against Mumbai Indians. The keeper-batter, who had a reputation as an attacking batter, hit a massive six against Dwayne Bravo. 

Image Credits: NDTV Sports

Image Credits: NDTV Sports

5. Chris Gayle, Yuvraj Singh, and Ross Taylor’s 118-meter six in IPL 2013, 2009, and 2008 respectively 

Chris Gayle, Yuvraj Singh, and Ross Taylor take the 5th, 6th, and 7th spot respectively in the list of the longest six in IPL history. Each of them hit 119-meter six during the IPL 2013, 2009, and 2008 respectively.

Gayle achieved the feat while playing for Royal Challengers Bengaluru in the IPL 2013 against Pune Warriors India. The West Indian batter smashed a massive 119-meter six against Ali Murtaza and the ball went over the top of the roof at the M Chinnaswamy stadium. The maximum came during his innings of 175*, which is the highest individual score in IPL.

Punjab Kings batter Yuvraj’s six came against Chennai Super Kings in the IPL 2009. He was in fine form during that season and played some great knocks in that season. Albie Morkel was at the receiving end of the 119-meter six by Yuvraj as he dispatched the ball straight over the long-on region. 

Ross Taylor, who was part of the Royal Challengers Bengaluru in IPL 2008, also hit 119 meters six in the IPL. It came during the inaugural edition of the league when he hit his Kiwi teammate Jacob Oram in the deep mid-wicket area for a massive six. 

 6. Gautam Gambhir, Ben Cutting, and Liam Livingstone’s 117-meter six in IPL 2016, 2017, and 2022 respectively 

Three players Gautam Gambhir, Ben Cutting and Liam Livingstone take the last three spots on the list of longest six in IPL history. The trio hit a 117-meter six in three different seasons.

Gambhir takes the 8th spot as he achieved the feat during the 2016 edition of the league while playing for the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). The southpaw walked a few steps out of his crease and hit Rajasthan Royals pacer S Sreesanth over a deep square leg.

Ben Cutting, while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL 2016, hit a 117-meter six to Shane Watson in the final of the tournament against Royal Challengers Bengaluru. Watson bowled a full toss deliver to which the batter muscled it for a big six over the square boundary. His innings helped SRH win their maiden title in the team.

Liam Livingstone achieved the feat in the IPL 2022 when he took Gujarat Titans pacers Mohammed Shami to cleaners in the game. The fast bowler bowled a back-of-a-length delivery on and around the middle stump, the batter went for a wild heroic and dispatched the ball over the deep mid-wicket region for a massive 117-meter six. 


In which year did Virat Kohli’s longest six in IPL history come?

Virat Kohli’s longest six in IPL history came during the IPL 2023 game against Sunrisers Hyderabad. The batter hit Nitish Kumar Reddy for a 103-meter six at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. This was also his first 100+ meter six in the IPL.

For the latest news, features, and interviews in cricket, including the IPL, make sure to stay in touch with

Ankitjit Singh
Ankitjit SinghSports Writer

I am just a guy in his early 20s whose dream was to play cricket but now believes his job is to serve cricket. I picked the cricket bat at the age of 3, pursued science as I grew up but eventually followed my heart to come into journalism and do the second-best thing in the world after playing the sport.