How Many Times India Won ICC World Cup?

Know how many times India won the ICC World Cup since the tournament started in 1975. Also, learn about the opponents they defeated in their triumphant run to the trophy.

Subhayan Dutta
Subhayan Dutta

Last Updated: 2023-10-20

Dillip Mohanty
India with 2011 World Cup Win Trophy

India has won the ICC World Cup on three occasions - 1983, 2007 and 2011 - across two different formats over a gap of 28 years and under two different captains, Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni.

How many times India won ICC World Cup

FormatYearCaptainFinal match opponentFinal match venue
ODI1983Kapil DevWest IndiesLord's, 
T202007MS DhoniPakistanJohannesburg
ODI2011MS DhoniSri LankaMumbai
Sportsboom Event Table Logo

1983 - India lift maiden World Cup title

The Indian cricket team had failed to qualify from the group stages in both the 1975 and 1979 World Cup editions, but what was more disappointing was their underwhelming performances on the biggest stage of cricket.

Despite having the likes of Sunil Gavaskar, Gundappa Viswanath, Dilip Vengsarkar, Mohinder Amarnath, Farokh Engineer and others, the Indian side had slumped to one-sided defeats against the likes of England, New Zealand, West Indies and even Sri Lanka. Their only win in a match across two World Cups had come against East Africa in 1975.

The 1979 World Cup had even seen Pakistan qualify for the semis while the Indian side had finished last in their group. Hence, when India arrived in England for the 1983 World Cup under new captain Kapil Dev, it was quite obvious that they were the least favourites.

Newspaper Clipping Can India Bring Home The World Cup.jpeg
It was under these circumstances that India would go on to lift the World Cup title, thereby inspiring an entire nation and setting the ball rolling for India to become the cricketing superpower that they are today.

India’s road to final

1983 World Cup

Jun-09ManchesterWest IndiesWonBy 34 Runs
Jun-11LeicesterZimbabweWonBy 5 Wickets
Jun-13NottinghamshireAustraliaLostBy 162 Runs
Jun-15KenningtonWest IndiesLostBy 66 Runs
Jun-18TurnbridgeZimbabweWonBy 31 Runs
Jun-20BristolAustraliaWonBy 118 Runs
Jun-22ManchesterEnglandWonBy 6 Wickets
Jun-25LondonWest IndiesWon By 43 Runs
Sportsboom Event Table Logo

The India team was clubbed into Group B alongside Australia, West Indies and Zimbabwe, where each team faced the others twice. The Indian team started off with a shock win against defending champions West Indies, where Yashpal Sharma’s heroics with the bat were followed by three-fers by Roger Binny and Ravi Shastri.

An easy win against Zimbabwe in their second match was followed by two reality checks against Australia and West Indies, who had comprehensive wins against India. With their World Cup campaign going a familiar way yet again, India needed something special which was provided by Kapil Dev’s unbeaten 175 against Zimbabwe. Following that, India didn’t lose a single game as they would England in the semis before going on to complete a double against tournament favourites West Indies.

Kapil Dev Winning 1983 World Cup_1.jpeg

2007 - India wins inaugural 2007 World T20

 The situation in which India entered the 2007 T20 World Cup wasn’t very different from the 1983 World Cup in terms of form. The 2007 ODI World Cup in the West Indies ended in a debacle for the Men in Blue as they lost to Bangladesh and Sri Lanka to get eliminated from the World Cup group stages.

The under-par performance had attracted heavy backlash back home in India and BCCI had decided to send an entirely new side to the T20 World Cup, scheduled later that year. The veteran likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Zaheer Khan and many others were replaced with a young team under Dhoni’s captaincy.

India were again the underdogs with the likes of Australia, South Africa, New Zealand and even Sri Lanka being pegged as title contenders ahead of the eventual champions. This title win had cemented Dhoni’s ability as captain to the world as he would go on to win every ICC trophy over the next years.

India Winning Moment at the T20 World Cup 2007 v Pakistan

India’s Road to Final

2007 T20 World Cup

Sep-13DurbanScotlandTieNo Result
Sep-14DurbanPakistanWonWon in Bowl-out
Sep-16JohannesburgNew ZealandLostBy 10 Runs
Sep-19DurbanEnglandWonBy 18 Runs
Sep-20DurbanSouth AfricaWonBy 37 Runs
Sep-22DurbanAustraliaWonBy 15 Runs
Sep-24JohannesburgPakistanWonBy 5 Runs
Sportsboom Event Table Logo

Having started their campaign with a washed-out game against Scotland, India needed to win most of their remaining games Pakistan, New Zealand, England and South Africa. And the Men in Blue would go on to win three of the four fixtures with the only exception being New Zealand.

India were pitted against tournament favourites Australia in the semis and Yuvraj Singh’s 30-ball-70 ensured India put up a tough fight. S Sreesanth’s magnificent spell of 2/12 further brought India to the final as they defeated the Aussies by 15 runs.

The high-voltage India vs Pakistan 2007 T20 World Cup final was a testament to their archaic rivalry as India would finally win by a narrow margin of five runs in the very last over of the match. The tournament gave India names like Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Yusuf Pathan and many others.

2011 - India lifts ODI World Cup after 28 years

Unlike the previous occasions, where the Men in Blue came as underdogs, the 2011 World Cup had India as one of the title contenders. With India as one of the hosts, the team had familiarity with the conditions and a well-balanced team of experience and youthful vigour to compete. The advent of IPL three years back also gave Indians a lot of exposure, which helped the side to play fearlessly.

India’s Road to the Final

2011 World Cup

Feb-19MirpurBangladeshWonBy 87 Runs
Feb-27BengaluruEnglandDrawMatch Tied
Mar-06BengaluruIrelandWonBy 5 Wickets
Mar-09DelhiNetherlandsWonBy 5 Wickets
Mar-12South AfricaNagpurLostBy 3 Wickets
Mar-20West IndiesChennaiWonBy 80 Runs
Mar-24AustraliaAhmedabadWonBy 5 Wickets
Mar-30PakistanMohaliWonBy 29 Runs
Apr-02Sri LankaMumbaiWonBy 6 Wickets
Sportsboom Event Table Logo

Barring one loss to South Africa and a gritty draw against England in the group stages, the Indian team would go on to win all their matches quite comprehensively. India would face Pakistan in the semi-final, but the Men in Green would be no match this time as India won by 29 runs.

The final affair against Sri Lanka was relatively close as India had to chase a tricky target of 275 runs. However, world-class knocks by opener Gautam Gambhir (97) and skipper MS Dhoni (91) would help India win the finale by six wickets.

Gautam Gambhir and MS Dhoni Partnership 2011 World Cup Final.jpegIndia would go on to win the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy as well, but that was unfortunately the last ICC title that India had lifted.  

Subhayan Dutta
Subhayan DuttaSports Writer

An M.A. in English Literature, Subhayan is an experienced journalist and sports writer. Having worked as a journalist at Hindustan Times, Subhayan covered diverse beats including sports, education, and health, showcasing his versatility and in-depth understanding of various subjects.