Top 5 Best Fielding Team In IPL

Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are the best fielding teams in the IPL. Check out the full list of best fielding teams in the IPL in this article.

Umaima Saeed
Umaima Saeed

Last Updated: 2024-01-19

Dillip Mohanty

5 minutes read

Good fielding plays a pivotal role in T20 tournaments. Agile fielders, quick reflexes, and accurate throws can turn the tide of a match. In T20 cricket, where every run matters, brilliant catches and smart run-outs can be game-changers.

Over the years, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has witnessed numerous breathtaking catches that have become defining moments in the tournament. Spectacular diving grabs at the boundary, mid-air snatches, and seemingly impossible catches have added to the league's popularity. These moments not only entertain the crowd but also significantly impact match outcomes.

To find out which is the best fielding team in the IPL, let's check out which teams have taken the most catches in the tournament. 

Kieron Pollard of Mumbai Indians takes a catch.jpeg

Most catches in IPL

By Teams

TeamMatchCatchStumpingRun Out
Mumbai Indians24796941124
Chennai Super Kings22593937116
Royal Challengers Bangalore24193044119
Delhi Capitals23889343142
Punjab Kings23284130101
Kolkata Knight Riders23781650125
Rajasthan Royals20676540110
Sunrisers Hyderabad1666441584
Gujarat Titans33153518
Lucknow Super Giants30140511
Sportsboom Event Table Logo

Mumbai Indians – 969 catches in 247 matches 

Five-time champions Mumbai Indians, who have won the trophy in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020, have taken the most catches in IPL by a team (969). Led by astute captaincy and a star-studded lineup, the franchise has nurtured a winning culture over the years.

Chennai Super Kings – 939 catches in 225 matches

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are second on the list with 939 catches. They have been a dominant force in the IPL, renowned for their consistent performances and success under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. Securing a historic five IPL titles (equalling Mumbai Indians' record), they've reached an unprecedented 10 finals and featured in the playoffs an impressive 12 times across the 14 seasons they've participated.

Faf du Plessis Catch in IPL for CSK.jpeg

Royal Challengers Bangalore – 930 catches in 241 matches

Securing the third spot on the list is Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) with 930 catches. Though yet to claim an IPL title, RCB reached the runner-up position thrice from 2009 to 2016. They also hold contrasting records for the highest and lowest team totals in IPL history—263/5 and 49 all out.

Delhi Capitals – 893 catches in 238 matches 

With a total of 893 catches, Delhi Capitals have claimed the fourth spot on the list. Currently led by David Warner, the Capitals have never won an IPL trophy and appeared in their first-ever final in 2020 against Mumbai Indians. 

Punjab Kings – 841 catches in 232 matches 

Despite being one of the less successful teams in the IPL, Punjab Kings have recorded the fifth-highest number of catches in IPL history (841). Their notable achievements include topping the league table and finishing as runners-up in the 2014 season, while they have made only one playoff appearance in 16 seasons.

Kolkata Knight Riders – 816 catches in 237 matches 

Punjab Kings are followed on the list by Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) with 816 catches. KKR emerged as champions in 2012 by defeating CSK in the final, and replicated this success in 2014 against Punjab Kings. The Knight Riders also boast the record for the longest winning streak by any Indian team in T20s, with an impressive 14 consecutive victories.

Rajasthan Royals – 765 catches in 206 matches 

Champions of the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008, the Rajasthan Royals are seventh on the list with 765 catches. Although they have not been able to win a second IPL title, the Royals were the runners-up of the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 and they were also the finalists of the 2022 season of the IPL under the captaincy of Sanju Samson. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad – 644 catches in 166 matches 

The Sunrisers Hyderabad have taken a total of 644 catches. Claiming their first title in 2016, the Sunrisers triumphed over RCB by eight runs in the final. Since 2016, they have consistently reached the playoffs, and in 2018, they reached the final but fell short against CSK.

Gujarat Titans – 153 catches in 33 matches 

With 153 catches in two seasons, Gujarat Titans are ninth on the list. Under the leadership of Hardik Pandya, they clinched their inaugural title during the 2022 season, marking a remarkable achievement in their debut campaign.

Lucknow Super Giants – 140 catches in 30 matches 

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) have taken 140 catches since making their IPL debut in 2022 along with the Titans. LSG reached the playoffs in both the seasons they've played so far, but have not been able to win the title. 

Top 10 players with most catches

In IPL history So Far

Suresh Raina CSK, GL205109
Virat KohliRCB237106
Kieron PollardMI189103
Rohit SharmaDC, MI24398
Ravindra JadejaGL, CSK, Kochi, RR22697
Shikhar DhawanDC, MI, PBKS, SRH12796
Ab de Villiers DC, RCB18490
Manish Pandey  DC, KKR, LSG, MI, PWI, RCB, SRH 17081
David Warner DC, SRH17681
Dwayne BravoCSK, GL, MI16180
Sportsboom Event Table Logo

Suresh Raina, the fifth-highest run-scorer in the IPL, tops the list of the most catches in IPL history so far, with 109 catches in 205 matches, followed closely by Virat Kohli with 106 catches in 237 matches. Kohli is also the highest run-scorer in the tournament’s history. 

Suresh Raina IPL Catch for CSK.jpeg

One name you cannot miss when discussing the best fielder in IPL is Kieron Pollard, who secures the third spot, having taken 103 catches in 189 matches. Rohit Sharma, a successful IPL captain, is fourth with 98 catches in 243 games, and Ravindra Jadeja claims the fifth position with 97 catches in 226 matches. Jadeja has won CSK games not just with the bat and ball but also with his exceptional fielding.

Shikhar Dhawan follows with 96 catches in 127 IPL matches, while the legendary AB de Villiers took 90 catches in 184 games. De Villiers retired from all forms of cricket, including the IPL, in 2021.

Manish Pandey occupies the eighth spot with 81 catches in 170 matches, alongside David Warner in the ninth place with 81 catches in 176 matches. Dwayne Bravo, known for his all-round prowess, secured 80 wickets in 161 matches from 2008 to 2022. Bravo was one of the best fielders in the CSK team until his retirement in 2022. 

Recommended Articles

Umaima Saeed
Umaima SaeedSports Writer

Umaima Saeed is a professional sports writer whose articles have been featured in several leading websites. She writes long-form content on sports, particularly cricket. She has a penchant for telling human-interest stories. Umaima has contributed articles on cricket to more than a dozen publications, both in print and online.