England Name ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup Squad

England’s men’s ODI team became the first country to crash out of the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup in the group stage, but who has been selected to defend their 2022 T20 Cricket World Cup title in the West Indies and USA?

Kaylan Geekie
Kaylan Geekie

Last Updated: 2024-05-27

Louis Hobbs

7 minutes read

England players celebrating their victory with the 2022 ICC Men's T20 World Cup trophy

Defending ICC Men’s T20 World Cup champions England have named their squad for the upcoming tournament in the West Indies and USA. The International Cricket Council’s (ICC) Twenty20 tournament will be held in the Caribbean and the United States from June 1 to 29. 

Twenty teams will compete in the expanded tournament for the title in Barbados, four more than participated at the 2022 ICC T20 Cricket World Cup in Australia. The showpiece event is scheduled to be co-hosted for the second time after Oman and the United Arab Emirates in 2021. Fifty-five matches will be played in the southern states of the USA and across six Caribbean islands. 

This year’s World Cup is the ninth edition of the international Twenty20 (T20I) competition. This will be the first-ever major global cricket tournament played in North America as the International Cricket Council looks to expand the sport's appeal in new markets. 
Only the West Indies has previously hosted international limited overs cricket World Cups in the Americas. The opening match is between the United States and Canada at Grand Prairie Cricket Stadium in Dallas, Texas, on June 1. 

Image Credits: T20

Image Credits: T20

The Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados, will host the final on June 29. This edition of the World Cup looks set to be as thrilling and unpredictable as ever. SportsBoom looks at England’s 2024 T20 Cricket World Cup squad. 

Australia hosted the last Twenty20 World Cup in 2022. No host-nation has ever won the competition, though. Of the eight editions of the ICC Men's T20 Cricket World Cup, only England and the West Indies have won the competition twice.

India won the inaugural tournament in South Africa. Pakistan, England, West Indies, and Sri Lanka won the following events. South Africa, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, and Bangladesh are the only traditional Full- and non-Full member nations who have not won the T20 World Cup.

Image Credits: Number 10

Image Credits: Number 10

Defending champions England name T20 World Cup squad 

Jos Buttler will again lead England at an ICC tournament, and he will be looking to become the first captain to retain the World Cup. England beat Pakistan by five wickets in the 2022 final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) in Australia. Matthew Mott led the men's T20 side to victory in the previous World Cup down under and is looking to become the first coach to win back-to-back Twenty-Over tournaments.

Jofra Archer and Chris Jordan make their welcome returns to the squad after lengthy absences due to injuries and form. Archer returns to international cricket for the first time in more than a year. He missed the previous two T20 cricket World Cup tournaments because of injuries. His last appearance for England was in March 2023. Since then, the fast bowler has been on the road to recovery from an elbow injury that sidelined him for more than 12 months. 

Archer has struggled to stay fit since 2021. He has had many injuries, with lengthy stints out of the game, including stress fractures, continues elbow problems. He even had surgery to remove glass from a tendon in his hand after he broke his fish tank during cleaning back in 2021.

Despite his recent absence from the England line-up, Jordan also secured his place in the squad, but only because of Ben Stokes’ pulled out of the tournament. Jordan’s last international appearance was back to September 2023. The all-rounder, who played a pivotal role in England’s triumph down under in 2022 thanks to his death bowling. 

Image Credits: T20

Image Credits: T20

He also owes his place in the 2024 T20 World Cup squad because of his recent form with the bat. When Stokes withdrew, the selectors focused on identifying a seam bowler, who can bat down the order. Jamie Overton’s back injury allowed Jordan to claim the final place on the plane. 

Buttler will lead the batting lineup, with Will Jacks, Phil Salt and Jonny Bairstow alternating at the top of the order. Left-handed Ben Duckett and veteran all-rounder Moeen Ali will add some diverse batting options to the starting XI. Liam Livingstone, Harry Brook, and Sam Curran beef up the lower order, while Adil Rashid leads the spin attack with Tom Hartley and Ali. 

England will warm up for the tournament with a four-match T20I series against Pakistan in Britain before jetting off across the Atlantic Ocean for the ninth edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The reigning champions are in Group B with Australia, Scotland, Namibia, and Oman. England’s opening game is against Scotland in Barbados on June 4. 

England 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Squad





Jos Buttler (Captain)

Wicketkeeper/Right-hand Batsman 


Moeen Ali

Left-hand Batting Allrounder 


Jofra Archer

Right-arm Fast bowler


Jonathan Bairstow

Wicketkeeper/Right-hand Batsman


Harry Brook

Right-hand Batsman


Sam Curren

Right-arm Bowling Allrounder


Ben Duckett

Top-order Left-hand Batsman


Tom Hartley

Slow Left-arm Orthodox 


Will Jacks

Right-hand Batting Allrounder


Chris Jordan

Right-hand Allrounder


Liam Livingstone

Right-hand Batting Allrounder


Adil Rashid

Right-arm Leg-break Bowler


Phil Salt



Reece Topley

Left-arm Fast-medium Bowler


Mark Wood

Right-arm Fast Bowler

England squad: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonathan Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Tom Hartley, Will Jacks, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, Mark Wood.

Coach: Matthew Mott

For more features, guides, and the latest 2024 ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup news, stay connected to

Image Credits: @ICC (

Image Credits: @ICC (


Who won the first-ever ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup?

India won the first-ever Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup in South Africa in 2007.

Who won the last ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup?

England won the previous Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup in Australia in 2022.

Who has won the most ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup tournaments?

The West Indies and England (two each) have won the most T20 Cricket World Cup tournaments.

Who is the captain of England’s 2024 T20 World Cup cricket team?

Jos Buttler is the captain of the England Men’s 2024 T20 World Cup cricket team.

Who is the most notable omission from the England Men’s 2024 T20 World Cup squad?

Ben Stokes is the most notable omission from England’s Men’s 2024 T20 World Cup squad.

Kaylan Geekie
Kaylan Geekie Sports Writer

Kaylan Geekie is a sports fanatic. He attended Durban High School before moving to Scotland, where he lived for 15 years. During his time in the United Kingdom, Kaylan graduated with a first-class BA Honours Degree in Sports Journalism at the University of the West of Scotland. Kaylan worked for nine years as the Match-Day Editor of, reporting on Super Rugby, The Rugby Championship, the 2015 Men's Rugby World Cup and the 2017 British & Irish Lions series for the website.