Australia's T20 World Cup Triumph: Run to the Title

In June 2021, the ICC decided to move the 2021 T20 World Cup to the UAE due to escalating COVID-19 concerns in India and the potential risk of a third wave in the country.

Subhayan Dutta
Subhayan Dutta

Last Updated: 2024-05-30

Kaylan Geekie

6 minutes read

Cricket ball on grass

The Australian cricket team has won one T20 World Cup so far, which came in the 2021 edition of the tournament. The marquee event was initially slated to take place in Australia from October 18 to November 15, 2020. However, in July 2020, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the tournament's postponement due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In August 2020, the ICC confirmed that India would host the 2021 tournament as planned, with Australia set to host the 2022 tournament. Nevertheless, in June 2021, the ICC decided to move the 2021 tournament to the UAE due to escalating COVID-19 concerns in India and the potential risk of a third wave in the country.

The multi-nation tournament eventually commenced on October 17. After 45 matches, 12,162 runs, and 526 wickets, Australia emerged as the champions of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 on November 14.

Australia’s Roadmap to 2021 T20 World Cup Title 

DateTournament StageMatchResultVenue
Oct 23, 2021Super 12South Africa vs AustraliaWon by 5 wicketsSheikh Zayed Stadium
Oct 28, 2021Super 12Sri Lanka vs AustraliaLost by 8 wicketsDubai International Stadium
Oct 30, 2021Super 12Australia vs EnglandWon by 8 wicketsDubai International Stadium
Nov 4, 2021Super 12Bangladesh vs AustraliaWon by 8 wicketsDubai International Stadium
Nov 6, 2021Super 12West Indies vs AustraliaWon by 8 wicketsSheikh Zayed Stadium

Nov 11, 2021
Semi-finalPakistan vs AustraliaWon by 5 wicketsDubai International Stadium
Nov 14, 2021FinalNew Zealand vs AustraliaWon by 8 wicketsDubai International Stadium

T20 World Cup 2021: Australia's Journey to Triumph

The T20 World Cup 2021 featured two rounds. In Round 1, twelve matches were played between eight teams: Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman, and Papua New Guinea.

The top four teams advanced to the Super 12s, joining the top eight ranked T20I teams for 30 intense matches. The teams in the Super 12 stage included India, Australia, Pakistan, England, South Africa, New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland, Namibia, and Scotland. These teams were divided into two groups:

The top two teams from each group advanced to the semifinals.

Australia in Super 12 Stage

Australia vs South Africa

Australia's journey in the Super 12 stage began with a significant match against South Africa. Despite neither team being highly fancied, Australia showcased their strengths in a low-scoring thriller. They restricted South Africa to 118/9 in 20 overs and chased the target with just two balls and five wickets remaining, setting the tone for their campaign.

Image Credits: @cricketcomau (X Account)

Image Credits: @cricketcomau (X Account)

Australia vs Sri Lanka

Australia overcame Sri Lanka's aggressive batting and bowling in Dubai to secure their second consecutive win in the Super 12 stage. Adam Zampa and Mitchell Starc were instrumental with the ball, restricting Sri Lanka to 154 runs in 20 overs. David Warner then shone with the bat, scoring a rapid fifty off 31 balls on a favourable Dubai pitch, leading Australia to a comfortable seven-wicket victory.

Image Credits: @toisports (X Account)

Image Credits: @toisports (X Account)

Australia vs England

Despite the high anticipation surrounding the marquee clash, it ended up being one-sided as England dominated Australia to make a strong statement in Dubai on Saturday, October 30. England's bowlers were exceptional, restricting Australia to just 125 runs. Jos Buttler then showcased his brutal best, smashing an unbeaten 71 off 32 balls, leading England to an emphatic eight-wicket victory. They chased the target in just 11.4 overs, maintaining their unbeaten run and edging closer to the semifinals. This loss dropped Australia to third place despite being level on points.

Image Credits: @toisports (X Account)

Image Credits: @toisports (X Account)

Australia vs Bangladesh

A dominant all-round performance, highlighted by Adam Zampa's maiden five-wicket haul, propelled Australia to a comprehensive victory over Bangladesh in Dubai. The Bangladeshi side was bowled out for just 73 runs in 15 overs. Aware that chasing the target of 74 in 8.1 overs would boost their net run rate (NRR) above South Africa's, Australia launched an aggressive chase. They achieved the target with 82 balls to spare, significantly improving their NRR, which could be crucial in determining the semifinalists from the group.

Image Credits: @toisports (X Account)

Image Credits: @toisports (X Account)

Australia vs West Indies

Dwayne Bravo's final international appearance, there was no grand send-off as defending champions West Indies exited the T20 World Cup quietly. Australia, needing a win to strengthen their semifinal bid, delivered their best performance of the tournament, securing an eight-wicket victory. Josh Hazlewood's 4/39 helped limit the West Indies to 157 runs. David Warner (89* off 56) and Mitchell Marsh (53 off 32) then guided Australia to a comfortable chase, achieving the target with 22 balls to spare.

Image Credits: @ESPNcricinfo (X Account)

Image Credits: @ESPNcricinfo (X Account)

Australia vs Pakistan: T20 World Cup 2021 Semifinals 

Undefeated in the group stage, Pakistan set a formidable target of 177 runs in Dubai, thanks to strong performances from Mohammed Rizwan (67), Babar Azam (39), and Fakhar Zaman (55). Despite David Warner's brisk innings, Australia required 50 runs from the last four overs. Matthew Wade capitalized on a crucial lifeline when Hasan Ali dropped his catch. Wade then struck three consecutive sixes off Shaheen Shah Afridi, securing a stunning victory and propelling Australia to the final.

Australia vs New Zealand : T20 World Cup 2021 Final

In the final, New Zealand posted a challenging target of 173 runs, driven by captain Kane Williamson's impressive 85 off 48 balls. Australia, however, rose to the occasion. Despite the early loss of skipper Aaron Finch, David Warner struck a half-century. Mitchell Marsh was pivotal, scoring 77 off 50 balls. His explosive start and consistent aggression ensured Australia chased down the target with ease, securing their first T20 World Cup title.

Australia's T20 World Cup 2021 campaign showcased strategic brilliance, key performances, and remarkable resilience. From their crucial Super 12 victory over South Africa to their stunning semifinal triumph against Pakistan and commanding final win against New Zealand, Australia proved their dominance in international cricket. Their first T20 World Cup title highlights their skill, determination, and strategic acumen.


How many T20 World Cups has India won?

In 2007, India emerged victorious in the first-ever T20 World Cup. The right-handed hitter hopes that India will go cautiously to the June 29 final in Barbados.

How many T20 World Cups has New Zealand won?

New Zealand have reached T20 World Cup final but are yet to lift the trophy.  They have won both the ICC Champions Trophy in 2000 and the World Test Championship in 2021, which are their only ICC trophies.

How many T20 World Cups has Pakistan won?

Pakistan has won one T20 World Cup, a feat that came in during the 2009 edition of the tournament. Apart from that, the Men in Green has reached the final twice - 2007 and 2022.  

Subhayan Dutta
Subhayan DuttaSports Writer

An M.A. in English Literature, Subhayan is an experienced journalist and sports writer. Having worked as a journalist at Hindustan Times, Subhayan covered diverse beats including sports, education, and health, showcasing his versatility and in-depth understanding of various subjects.